Introducing: Juliet Blyth

Name: Juliet

Role at Vic Books: General Manager

The book you are reading right now: eek I’m between books! but just finished Sue Orr’s The Party Line and really enjoyed it.

Favourite book of 2015: without a doubt anything by Kent Haruf

Favourite quote of the moment: Let’s do this thing

How long have you worked at Vic Books? 15 years give or take a month here and there

What made you want to work in a bookshop? My English lit degree, my failure to become a librarian and discovering how much fun it is to sell books

Tell us about your first day at Vic Books: I’d come from a chain bookshop where you never really needed to make your own decisions, there was always someone higher up the line, at Vic Books I quickly learnt no one else knew how to do my job – it was up to me – trepidation and liberation in equal measure.

What is it about bookshops that you enjoy the most? Tingly fingers – I love walking into a bookshop and just knowing I’m going to find something amazing to buy, I just don’t know what it is yet.

What are the best parts of working for Vic Books? The people I work with – they are talented, creative, and enthusiastic and have total belief in what they are doing – they inspire me every day. And the coffee of course – how lucky am I to have the best coffee made by the best baristas in Wellington on my doorstep?!

Favourite moment at Vic Books of 2015: The bookshop meeting every day at 9am – keeps me grounded.

Leave a Reply

