Introducing: Jayne Mulligan

Name: Jayne Mulligan

 Role at Vic Books: Bookseller / The one behind the Facebook and Instagram posts

The book you are reading right now: Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff.

 Favourite book of 2015: Purity by Jonothan Franzen (hugely criticized, adequate prose, but good fun) Though this might be superseded by Lauren Groff.

 Favourite quote of the moment: Joan Didion  ‘Why I write’: “I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.”

 How long have you worked at Vic Books? About a year and a half.

What made you want to work in a bookshop? I had an English literature degree, and an inability to decide what to do. A bookshop seemed liked perfect place to think about it. 

Tell us about your first day at Vic Books: I was thrown into the fiction section and asked to shelve titles. I found a real sense of calm as I worked my way through the stacks. The tunes were good, and the coffee was a dream.

 What is it about bookshops that you enjoy the most? Mark Forsyth puts it best in ‘The Unknown Unknown’ – a bookshop can reveal books you never knew you wanted to read.

 What are the best parts of working for Vic Books? It’s probably the people. Those who populate the staff-room, the ones who roam the store and wait patiently in our lines, and the people in the books on the shelves. 

Favourite moment at Vic Books of 2015: We’ve had some amazing events at Vic Books this year. I particularly enjoyed the National Poetry day event. Izzy and I made some zines, and the poets who spoke showed such skill and range and beauty – you couldn’t help but be inspired.

Leave a Reply

